Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited: Books #1-2
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Dover Publications, 2015.
Format
eBook
ISBN
9780486805122
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

More Details

Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Samuel Butler., & Samuel Butler|AUTHOR. (2015). Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited: Books #1-2 . Dover Publications.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Samuel Butler and Samuel Butler|AUTHOR. 2015. Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited: Books #1-2. Dover Publications.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Samuel Butler and Samuel Butler|AUTHOR. Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited: Books #1-2 Dover Publications, 2015.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Samuel Butler, and Samuel Butler|AUTHOR. Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited: Books #1-2 Dover Publications, 2015.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0a8ce7d5-6125-ce0e-69bf-f604de5e954f-eng
Full titleerewhon and erewhon revisited books 1 2
Authorbutler samuel
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2023-01-31 02:01:05AM
Last Indexed2024-04-17 02:13:32AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedDec 30, 2023
Last UsedFeb 2, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2015
    [artist] => Samuel Butler
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/csp_9780486805122_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 11607590
    [isbn] => 9780486805122
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 400
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Samuel Butler
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Classics
            [1] => Fantasy
            [2] => Fiction
        )

    [price] => 0.69
    [id] => 11607590
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind. Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11607590
    [pa] => 
    [series] => Erewhon
    [subtitle] => Books #1-2
    [publisher] => Dover Publications
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)