Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Hachette Books, 2017.
Format
eBook
ISBN
9780316506854
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

More Details

Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kate Winkler Dawson., & Kate Winkler Dawson|AUTHOR. (2017). Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City . Hachette Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kate Winkler Dawson and Kate Winkler Dawson|AUTHOR. 2017. Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City. Hachette Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kate Winkler Dawson and Kate Winkler Dawson|AUTHOR. Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City Hachette Books, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kate Winkler Dawson, and Kate Winkler Dawson|AUTHOR. Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City Hachette Books, 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID10fedff6-773d-f886-5f9c-976821821433-eng
Full titledeath in the air the true story of a serial killer the great london smog and the strangling of a city
Authordawson kate winkler
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-04-19 10:47:09AM
Last Indexed2024-04-20 02:27:04AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedSep 22, 2023
Last UsedApr 18, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2017
    [artist] => Kate Winkler Dawson
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hbg_9780316506854_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 12529308
    [isbn] => 9780316506854
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Death in the Air
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 352
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Kate Winkler Dawson
                    [artistFormal] => Dawson, Kate Winkler
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => 20th Century - General
            [1] => Europe
            [2] => Great Britain
            [3] => History
            [4] => Modern
            [5] => Murder
            [6] => Serial Killers
            [7] => True Crime
        )

    [price] => 2.99
    [id] => 12529308
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.

London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five long days in December 1952, a killer smog held the city firmly in its grip and refused to let go. Day became night, mass transit ground to a halt, criminals roamed the streets, and some 12,000 people died from the poisonous air. But in the chaotic aftermath, another killer was stalking the streets, using the fog as a cloak for his crimes.

All across London, women were going missing--poor women, forgotten women. Their disappearances caused little alarm, but each of them had one thing in common: they had the misfortune of meeting a quiet, unassuming man, John Reginald Christie, who invited them back to his decrepit Notting Hill flat during that dark winter. They never left.

The eventual arrest of the "Beast of Rillington Place" caused a media frenzy: were there more bodies buried in the walls, under the floorboards, in the back garden of this house of horrors? Was it the fog that had caused Christie to suddenly snap? And what role had he played in the notorious double murder that had happened in that same apartment building not three years before--a murder for which another, possibly innocent, man was sent to the gallows?

The Great Smog of 1952 remains the deadliest air pollution disaster in world history, and John Reginald Christie is still one of the most unfathomable serial killers of modern times. Journalist Kate Winkler Dawson braids these strands together into a taut, compulsively readable true crime thriller about a man who changed the fate of the death penalty in the UK, and an environmental catastrophe with implications that still echo today.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12529308
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
    [publisher] => Hachette Books
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)