Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperAudio, 2021.
Format
eAudiobook
ISBN
9780063066489
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Physical Description
11h 10m 49s
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Annabel Abbs., Annabel Abbs|AUTHOR., & Ell Potter|READER. (2021). Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship . HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Annabel Abbs, Annabel Abbs|AUTHOR and Ell Potter|READER. 2021. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship. HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Annabel Abbs, Annabel Abbs|AUTHOR and Ell Potter|READER. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship HarperAudio, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Annabel Abbs, Annabel Abbs|AUTHOR, and Ell Potter|READER. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship HarperAudio, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID90fede01-318c-5178-409b-75b9303e64dc-eng
Full titlemiss elizas english kitchen
Authorabbs annabel
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-06-20 11:00:53AM
Last Indexed2024-06-20 11:01:40AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedDec 22, 2023
Last UsedMar 10, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2021
    [artist] => Annabel Abbs
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780063066489_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14085730
    [isbn] => 9780063066489
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Miss Eliza's English Kitchen
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 11h 10m 49s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Annabel Abbs
                    [artistFormal] => Abbs, Annabel
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Ell Potter
                    [artistFormal] => Potter, Ell
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Fiction
        )

    [price] => 2.99
    [id] => 14085730
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => In a novel perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor's A Memory of Violets and upstairs-downstairs stories, Annabel Abbs, the award-winning author of The Joyce Girl, returns with the brilliant real-life story of Eliza Acton and her assistant as they revolutionized British cooking and cookbooks around the world.

Before Mrs. Beeton and well before Julia Child, there was Eliza Acton, who changed the course of cookery writing forever.

England 1837. Victorian London is awash with exciting new ingredients from spices to exotic fruits, but Eliza Acton has no desire to spend her days in the kitchen. Determined to be a poet and shamed by the suggestion she write a cookery book instead, she at first refuses to even consider the task. But then her father is forced to flee the country for bankruptcy, shaming the family while leaving them in genteel poverty. As a woman, Eliza has few options, so she methodically collects recipes while teaching herself the mysteries of the kitchen. And to her surprise, she discovers she is not only talented at cooking-she loves it.

To assist her, she hires seventeen-year-old Ann Kirby, the impoverished daughter of a war-injured father and a mother losing her grip on reality. Under Eliza's tutelage, Ann learns about poetry, cookery, and love, while unravelling a mystery in her mistress's past. Through the art of food, Eliza and Ann develop an unusual friendship and break the mold of traditional cookbooks by adding elegant descriptions and ingredient lists, that are still used today.

Told in alternate voices, this is an amazing novel of female friendship, the ensuring struggle for freedom, the quiet joy of cookery, and the place of food in creativity all while bringing Eliza Acton out of the archives and back into the public eye.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14085730
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship
    [publisher] => HarperAudio
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)