The Patient
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
HarperAudio, 2020.
Format
eAudiobook
ISBN
9780358311263
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Physical Description
4h 18m 59s
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Jasper Dewitt., Jasper Dewitt|AUTHOR., & Edoardo Ballerini|READER. (2020). The Patient . HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Jasper Dewitt, Jasper Dewitt|AUTHOR and Edoardo Ballerini|READER. 2020. The Patient. HarperAudio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Jasper Dewitt, Jasper Dewitt|AUTHOR and Edoardo Ballerini|READER. The Patient HarperAudio, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Jasper Dewitt, Jasper Dewitt|AUTHOR, and Edoardo Ballerini|READER. The Patient HarperAudio, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa636ecf5-f7c6-26f1-7daf-f82a6e51ee76-eng
Full titlepatient
Authordewitt jasper
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-02-19 20:00:09PM
Last Indexed2024-02-20 04:53:12AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedSep 21, 2023
Last UsedFeb 20, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2020
    [artist] => Jasper Dewitt
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780358311263_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14795541
    [isbn] => 9780358311263
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Patient
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 4h 18m 59s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Jasper Dewitt
                    [artistFormal] => Dewitt, Jasper
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Edoardo Ballerini
                    [artistFormal] => Ballerini, Edoardo
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Horror
            [1] => Thriller
        )

    [price] => 2.99
    [id] => 14795541
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => The Silent Patient by way of Stephen King: Parker, a young, overconfident psychiatrist new to his job at a mental asylum, miscalculates catastrophically when he undertakes curing a mysterious and profoundly dangerous patient.

In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient.

We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility's most difficult, profoundly dangerous case - a forty-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide.

Desperate and fearful, the hospital's directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control, and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew.

Fans of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay's The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt's astonishing debut.

Narrated by Earphones Award winner Edoardo Ballerini.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14795541
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => HarperAudio
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)