Cooking for Picasso : a novel
(Audiobook CD)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Marno, Mozhan, narrator.
Published
[New York] : Penguin Random House Audio, [2016].
Format
Audiobook CD
Edition
Unabridged.
ISBN
0735286698, 9780735286696
Physical Desc
11 audio discs (13 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status
Falmouth - Main Library - Adult
CD SPOKEN Aubray
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Falmouth - Main Library - AdultCD SPOKEN AubrayOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Harwich Brooks Free Library - AdultCD SPOKEN FICTION AUBOn Shelf
Truro Public Library - AdultCD SPOKEN FICTION AUBOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
[New York] : Penguin Random House Audio, [2016].
Edition
Unabridged.
Language
English
ISBN
0735286698, 9780735286696
UPC
9780735286696

Notes

General Note
Compact discs.
Restrictions on Access
Restricted to PRINT DISABLED Patrons.
Participants/Performers
Read by Mozhan Marno.
Description
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.The French Riviera, spring 1936. It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under an assumed name has made an unusual request--to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he has secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional lives--and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.New York, present day. Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who has come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother's enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Cote d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future.Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the south of France, Cooking for Picasso serves up a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make, as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Aubray, C., & Marno, M. (2016). Cooking for Picasso: a novel (Unabridged.). Penguin Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Aubray, Camille and Mozhan, Marno. 2016. Cooking for Picasso: A Novel. Penguin Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Aubray, Camille and Mozhan, Marno. Cooking for Picasso: A Novel Penguin Random House Audio, 2016.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Aubray, Camille,, and Mozhan Marno. Cooking for Picasso: A Novel Unabridged., Penguin Random House Audio, 2016.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.