The patient
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020.
Format
Book
ISBN
9780358181767, 0358181763
Physical Desc
209 pages ; 20 cm
Status
Falmouth - East Branch - Adult
FICTION DeWitt,J. Patient
1 available
Falmouth - North Branch - Adult
FICTION DeWitt,J. Patient
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Falmouth - East Branch - AdultFICTION DeWitt,J. PatientOn Shelf
Falmouth - North Branch - AdultFICTION DeWitt,J. PatientOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Barnstable Sturgis Library - AdultFICTION DEWOn Shelf
Eastham Public Library - AdultFICTION DEWOn Shelf
Harwich Brooks Free Library - AdultFICTION DEWOn Shelf
Jonathan Bourne Public Library - AdultFICTION DeWittOn Shelf
Yarmouth Port Library - AdultFICTION DEWOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020.
Street Date
2007
Language
English
ISBN
9780358181767, 0358181763

Notes

Description
"In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient. We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility's most difficult, profoundly dangerous case-a 40-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide. Desperate and fearful, the hospital's directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew. Fans of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay's The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt's astonishing debut"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

DeWitt, J. (2020). The patient . Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

DeWitt, Jasper. 2020. The Patient. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

DeWitt, Jasper. The Patient Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

DeWitt, Jasper. The Patient Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.