Miss Eliza's English kitchen : a novel of Victorian cookery and friendship
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2022.
Format
Large Print
Edition
Large print edition.
ISBN
9781432896065, 1432896067
Physical Desc
515 pages (large print) ; 22 cm.
Status
Falmouth - Main Library - Adult
LARGE PRINT Abbs, A. Miss
1 available
Falmouth - East Branch - Adult
LARGE PRINT Abbs, A. Miss
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Falmouth - Main Library - AdultLARGE PRINT Abbs, A. MissOn Shelf
Falmouth - East Branch - AdultLARGE PRINT Abbs, A. MissOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatus
Mashpee Public Library - AdultLP FICTION ABBOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Syndetics Unbound

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2022.
Edition
Large print edition.
Street Date
2203
Language
English
ISBN
9781432896065, 1432896067

Notes

General Note
Includes recipes and reading group guide.
Description
"In a novel perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor's A Memory of Violets and upstairs-downstairs stories, Annabel Abbs, the award-winning author of The Joyce Girl, returns with the brilliant real-life story of Eliza Acton and her assistant as they revolutionized British cooking and cookbooks around the world. Before Mrs. Beeton and well before Julia Child, there was Eliza Acton, who changed the course of cookery writing forever. England, 1835. London is awash with thrilling new ingredients, from rare spices to exotic fruits. But no one knows how to use them. When Eliza Acton is told by her publisher to write a cookery book instead of the poetry she loves, she refuses - until her bankrupt father is forced to flee the country. As a woman, Eliza has few options. Although she's never set foot in a kitchen, she begins collecting recipes and teaching herself to cook. Much to her surprise she discovers a talent - and a passion - for the culinary arts. Eliza hires young, destitute Ann Kirby to assist her. As they cook together, Ann learns about poetry, love and ambition. The two develop a radical friendship, breaking the boundaries of class while creating new ways of writing recipes. But when Ann discovers a secret in Eliza's past, and finds a voice of her own, their friendship starts to fray. Based on the true story of the first modern cookery writer, Miss Eliza's English Kitchen is a spellbinding novel about female friendship, the struggle for independence, and the transcendent pleasures and solace of food."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Abbs, A. (2022). Miss Eliza's English kitchen: a novel of Victorian cookery and friendship (Large print edition.). Thorndike Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Abbs, Annabel. 2022. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Abbs, Annabel. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Abbs, Annabel. Miss Eliza's English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship Large print edition., Thorndike Press, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.